RadonReporter-Autumn 2019

2 The radon reporter / Autumn 2019 Officers PRESIDENT: David Daniels president@aarst.org VICE PRESIDENT: Crystal Lytle crystal.lytle@fantech.net VICE PRESIDENT: NEW - Chad Robinson crobinson@buildingperform.com SECRETARY: NEW - Dr. Darioush Ghahremani dghahremani@aol.com TREASURER: David Kapturowski dave@spruce.com AARST CHAPTER PRESIDENTS Email: chapters@aarst.org Southeast AARST Mitchell Stein mstein@ga-radonsolutions.com Heartland Pete Piscitello pete@sirbuildalot.com Kentucky (KARP) Kyle Hoylman keh@protectenv.com Midwest Dan Potter danpotter@dupageradon.com New England Dave Hill dhill@spruce.com New York State Chapter George Schambach george@professionalhome.com Ohio (OARP) Shad Evans shad@radonbegone.net Pennsylvania Nate Burden nateburden@msn.com Rocky Mountain Terry Kerwin contact@reliantradon.com North Star Chapter Jesse Green jesse@americanradonmitigation.com NATIONAL DIRECTORS William J Angell wangell@umn.edu Jay Bauder jay@bauderbasement.com Laura Armul Lauraarmul@sunnuclear.com Laurie Chilcote laurie_chilcote@coxcolvin.com Eric Lewandowski ericl@proradon.com Steve Tucker office@cascaderadon.com Gloria Linnertz seascape@htc.net Jill Newton jnewton@spruce.com NEW - Angel Price angel@cansar.org NEW - Jan Fisher jfisher@radonsupplies.com STAFF Executive Director, AARST-NRPP Dallas Jones director@aarst.org National Policy Director Jane Malone jmalone@aarst.org Nicole Chazaud, Communications Director, Symposium Manager, Managing Editor for The Radon Reporter nicole@aarst.org Amy Morris, Integrated Media Manager, Membership Coordinator amy@aarst.org Marilyn Patrick NRPP Exam Coordinator AARST Office Assistant marilyn@aarst.org Christina Johnson NRPP Credentialing Coordinator christina@nrpp.info NRPP Compliance compliance@nrpp.info Copyright © 2019 American Association of Radon Scientists & Technologists. All rights reserved Phone: (828)348-0185 . Ad Index Airwell Page 6 Fantech, Inc. Pages 5, 22, 25, 27 Festa Radon Technologies, Co. Page 19 National Radon Defense Page 21 OREP Page 26 PressureTech Pages 13, 17, 20, 23 Professional Discount Supply Pages 7, 25 Radon Supplies Page 4 Spruce Environmental Technologies, Inc. Pages 8, 9, 12 AARST ™ , the American Association of Radon Scientists & Technologists, is a nonprofit, professional organization dedicated to the highest standard of excellence and ethical performance of radon measurement, mitigation, and transfer of information for the benefit of members, consumers, and the public at large. AARST’s leadership is democratically elected by the members. AARST represents your voice as we meet the wide range of challenges facing radon professionals and the community. Your membership and participation provide you a voice in the changes to come, and allows you to gain updated information, discover new techniques, learn about new problems before they occur, and hone your professional skills. Table of Contents 4 Low Voltage Fans - David Kapturowski 6 Devices and QA - Rebecca Turek 10 Navigating Compliance - Dallas Jones 13 Statistical Symposium Wrap-Up - Nicole Chazaud 18 A Case for Diagnostics - Chad Robinson 21 Uncover Needs to Uncover Profits - Curt Drew The 2019-2020 AARST Board of Directors Election results for the AARST Board of Directors were announced during the 2019 International Symposium lunch held on Sept 10th. Board members present at the Symposium, gather for a quick group photo and to welcome the newly elected Board members. Jan Fisher - National Director, Dr. Darioush Ghahremani – Secretary, and Chad Robinson - Vice President.